Text Size

British Antarctic Territory

The British Antarctic Territory was constituted on 3 March 1962, comprising of Graham Land, South Orkneys and South Shetland Islands, formally part of the Falkland Islands Dependencies. The main bases in the Territory are Rothera and Halley (both manned all year round) and Port Lockroy and Signy Island which are manned in the summer seasons only.

The British Antarctic Survey operate the bases at Rothera, Halley and Signy while the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust now operate Port Lockroy, and it was from these that scientists discovered the hole in the ozone layer.

The Falkland Islands Philatelic Bureau act as a sales agent for the Government of the British Antarctic Territory who are administered from London. All philatelic service requests are handled through the Philatelic Bureau with all items being sent to the relevant base when required for cancelling. All official First Day Covers are cancelled in the Territory, returned to the Philatelic Bureau in Stanley and then distributed.